## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 26, 2025

Deputy Postmaster General Doug Tulino United States Postal Service 475 L'Enfant Plaza SW Washington, DC 20260

Dear Deputy Postmaster General Doug Tulino,

We write to express our strong opposition to the recently announced plan to cut 10,000 workers from the United States Postal Service (USPS) within 30 days through a voluntary early retirement program, which appears to stem from USPS's agreement with the Department of Government Efficiency (DOGE) and the General Services Administration (GSA).<sup>1</sup> We strongly urge you to immediately halt the implementation of this plan and provide Congress with all details of your reported agreement with DOGE.

The primary role of the USPS is to offer reliable and affordable mail and package delivery to all addresses in the United States, serving both urban and rural areas. Unfortunately, under former Postmaster General Louis DeJoy's leadership, postal service slowdowns, workforce reductions, and rising costs for Americans have significantly eroded public trust. His "Delivering for America Plan" has failed to address these ongoing issues and made things worse—creating bipartisan frustration among members of Congress who repeatedly hear from constituents about the problems they face with the USPS. Furthermore, the USPS is already facing staffing shortages due to low wages, difficult working conditions, and operational changes that have overburdened employees. Given the consistently poor performance of the USPS under DeJoy's leadership, it is absurd to entertain further workforce reductions in any conversation around improving "efficiency."

Since the start of the second Trump Administration, Elon Musk's DOGE has sought to wreak havoc within the federal government—undermining and even dismantling critical agencies, slashing essential programs and funding, and prioritizing corporate interests over those of the American people. These actions have not only weakened the integrity of government institutions, but have also jeopardized the livelihoods of millions of Americans. The USPS is an independent agency of the executive branch for a reason, and it is your responsibility as Deputy Postmaster General to protect it from the kind of destruction that we have already seen DOGE inflict on other agencies.

Again, we strongly urge you to immediately halt the recently announced plan to reduce the USPS workforce by 10,000 workers through the Voluntary Early Retirement program. Cutting such a large portion of the workforce risks further degrading service, especially in rural and underserved communities, and worsening conditions for those postal service workers who remain. The Postal

<sup>1</sup> USPS says it will work with DOGE on reform, including workforce cuts

Service is a fundamental institution that millions of Americans depend on daily, and its future should not be dictated by reckless policies under DOGE. We urge you to work with Congress on solutions that strengthen the USPS without jeopardizing the quality of its service or the wellbeing of its workforce.

We look forward to your response and cooperation.

Sincerely,

Pocan

Member of Congress

Laskeda flail

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

l She

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

LaMonica McIver Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Jonathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

Eleano H. Notos

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

en Hong

Steven Horsford Member of Congress Nevada's Fourth Congressional District

Frederica X Wilson

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Vernica Errobar

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Timoto M. Kon Timothy M. Kennedy

Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Madelune ,

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

May La Scan

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Morgan M'Carey Morgan McGarvey

Morgan McGarvey Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Troy A. Carter, Sr. Member of Congress

Brender

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr.

Member of Congress

Greg Stanton Member of Congress

ece

Becca Balint Member of Congress

James P. Une P

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Lois Frankel Member of Congress

Here GALL

Delia C. Ramirez Member of Congress

N. Tokude

J**X** Tokuda Member of Congress

Bernie Water Colema

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Trank Pallon,

Frank Pallone, Jr. Member of Congress

0,

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

12

Gilbert Ray Cisneros, Jr Member of Congress

year

Al Green Member of Congress

, rin Mullin

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Dana Delate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Shomari Figures Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernández Member of Congress

Fauld tonles

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Ju R. Meclice

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Lucy MCBatt

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

udy Chu Judy Chu

Member of Congress

Bill Faster

Bill Foster Member of Congress

ha

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

in Swelwell

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Ritchie Im

Ritchie Torres Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragan

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

George Latimer Member of Congress

Andre Carson Member of Congress

Sarah McBride Member of Congress

Avide J. Jain

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Mi Scwell

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Greg Landsman Member of Congress

raitel m

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Marry Kaptur

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

liai

Angie Craig Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez

Member of Congress

MinC LK olli

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

byle

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

Grace Meng Member of Congress

litas

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Queis Porome

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

tanaunendi

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Chell R

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs

Member of Congress

jule Shonpon

Mike Thompson Member of Congress